Skip to content

Internet Jonestown's Thehanz123 mixes deadly cocktail of marijuana, Vicodin, Xanax and booze

December 22, 2012
Marijuana & vicodin
« on: Today at 06:50:30 pm »

Thehanz123

First of all, i would like to say in advance that i am sorry if this offends anyone.
I just wanted to know if anyone has insight on the effects of smoking marijuana, taking vicodin, and drinking on a daily basis has on the quiting of xanax.

Everytime i smoke weed i seem to hallucinate and thoughts are very loud and clear in my head and it feels like my mind gets split in 5 with all these wierd different ppl talking.
On the other hand, It also helps me see the Realness of the things in front of me, such as peoples personality or how a normal person would see something, and it helps me go to sleep.

Vicodin just Knocks me out, but i take it from time to time because it always messes me up to the point where it will kill my thirst for getting high off of pills, more importantly, Xanax.

Drinking does get me a little ancy, but after a few beers i can be myself.

I am not an alchoholic or a drugatic, and marijuana is just an herb so i just wanted to know if i might be making my healing time longer by doing this, or if it doesnt matter.

3 years perscribed to xanax. Abused it for 2 years before that. Went up to taking 3-4mg a day and if i wanted to abuse it up to 8. mostly at 1-2 mg a day.
Started self tapering off when i was taking 1mg a day. Cut it down to .5 immediately and went from there.
Re: Marijuana & vicodin
« Reply #1 on: Today at 07:26:16 pm »

WTBNA

If you are interested in my opinion about marijuana, I will offer it to you.

Alprazolam for 2 months
.5 to 1 mg a day
C/t'd on Aug 1, 2011
Prior to benzos, I had substance abuse for about 4 months straight.  Also foolish consumption of alcohol during benzo use.  At 17 months off I am experiencing ups and downs, but the ups are much better than they used to be, and the downs less intense.  Cognitively I am great, physically I am improving a LOT, but my psychological symptoms are stubborn.
Re: Marijuana & vicodin
« Reply #2 on: Today at 07:59:30 pm »

Hope1962

Quote from: Thehanz123 on Today at 06:50:30 pm
First of all, i would like to say in advance that i am sorry if this offends anyone.
I just wanted to know if anyone has insight on the effects of smoking marijuana, taking Vicodin, and drinking on a daily basis has on the quiting of xanax.

Everytime i smoke weed i seem to hallucinate and thoughts are very loud and clear in my head and it feels like my mind gets split in 5 with all these wierd different ppl talking.
On the other hand, It also helps me see the Realness of the things in front of me, such as peoples personality or how a normal person would see something, and it helps me go to sleep.

Vicodin just Knocks me out, but i take it from time to time because it always messes me up to the point where it will kill my thirst for getting high off of pills, more importantly, Xanax.

Drinking does get me a little ancy, but after a few beers i can be myself.

I am not an alchoholic or a drugatic, and marijuana is just an herb so i just wanted to know if i might be making my healing time longer by doing this, or if it doesnt matter.

I can tell you what I’ve observed on the site, Hanz. Most members have stated that pot messed them up. It caused increased anxiety and in some cases lead to panic attacks. However this is not the only reason I wouldn’t recommend it. It is also a drug that can led to addiction. When our members are trying to get off of one drug they are dependent on, I wouldn’t recommend another addictive substance.

As far as alcohol is concerned, this is much more definitive in terms of it’s use while tapering. Many members feel it has caused them more difficulty. In fact, the owner of BB, Colin has reported this himself on the forum from time to time.

As for Vicodin , again…I wouldn’t recommend one addictive drug to help you withdraw from another.

2 mgs of clonazepam for 6 yrs.  ~2011~ 6/29/11-2mg to 1mg in one day.- Very sick.
7/25-.875-too fast.  8/4-.75-too fast.  8/15-.625-sick.  8/24-.562 -too fast.  9/7-.5 -tremors.
10/20- Held for 4 months. Anxiety diminished dramatically since starting my taper.
~2012~
Will be jumping on 12/01/13 @ .043 mgs
Still dealing with tremors on and off.
currently: 05/11-.172 mg. Insomnia.
About me and my role on the BenzoBuddies Team.
Please read this message before sending me a PM.
Re: Marijuana & vicodin
« Reply #3 on: Today at 09:22:23 pm »

 pj

hanz,

Your post does not offend me, but it concerns me. The mixing of Marijuana, Vicodin, alcohol and Xanax is not such a good idea. Your poor brain will become more confused than a mosquito in a mannequin factory and could definitely hinder and prolong your healing.

The best to you.

To deal with insomnia, I took.05-1mg of ativan and 5-10 mg of Ambien, on Dr's orders to (take as needed) from April 2007 to Dec.8th 2010, the day I went cold turkey.
I was in tolerance W/D most of that time.
After 15 months, I am now healed, and much wiser.  If you can avoid it, do not quit cold turkey!
Re: Marijuana & vicodin
« Reply #4 on: Today at 09:27:07 pm »

sweet g

Well, as someone with some (non-abusive) experience with these I can give you my advice.

The biggest point is not to be doing at least the alcohol and vicoden together or regularly and ESPECIALLY not with xanx. The #1 reason is that that is *very* dangerous.

Even if you do not do anything as dire as ODing, there are additional considerations. Because alcohol works on GABA receptors on a similar level as benzos, it is counter productive certainly to drink regularly, and for many people here, to even drink at all.

The Aston Manual approves of very limited drinking on occasion if you are not expericing an adverse reaction (some people do, some people don’t- though most everyone seems to agree that drinking in excess leads to something far nastier and longer lasting than a hangover). The idea there is to try to participate in normal life on a certain level, but to asbolutely not replace one substance for another.

As for the vicoden, you weren’ specific as to if you are using this for actual physical pain or just to blunt the effects of withdrawal. If it’s the latter, I strongly advise you not to do it. These pills are addictive, and there is no sense in trading one addiction for another (or worse yet, getting stuck in the middle with an addiction to both).

If you have actual real physical pain and are taking vicoden under a doctors care, however, I’m not going to argue that you should have to subject yourself to additional physical pain just for some holy status of being totally pill free. Just don’t abuse them or take them for anything shy of serious physical pain is my best advice.

Regarding pot, it’s a mixed bag. I’ll leave it to you to assess its legal status where you live. I am one of the people here who has found some serious symptom relief from pot. There have definitely been more than a few of us who have found it helpful, but we are also definitely in the minority as most people here find that it increases their anxiety (usually right after smoking until it wears off).

I’d say it has the least potential for harm out of the three things that you mentioned, and it’s the only one of the three that isn’t physically addictive (which isn’t to say that it isn’t habit forming on a behavioral level).

I think that the big thing here is that you do not want to replace one addiction/habit with another. If you don’t feel that that is an issue in your situation and you are comfortable with pot’s legal status where you live and you find that it helps your symptoms without hurting your recovery in the big big picture, then I don’t see a reason not to take it any more than I see a reason not to take something like melatonin to help with sleep.

Best wishes, whatever you decide.

- 3/30/2000, 1mg Clonazepam nightly for severe chronic insomnia
- 2008-2010, 1-2mg due to severely hyperactive thyroid, taking 1.5-2mg for a lot of it.
- Summer 2010, my thyroid is treated and I stabilize at 1mg. Suspect I no longer need the med.
- 8/6/10 - .75mg, goes relatively ok
- 9/3/10 - .5mg, have horrible life ruining withdrawal for 6 weeks, recover for more
- 11/19/10 - .375mg
- 12/25/10 - .25mg
- 1/14/11 - .167mg
- 2/4/11 - .125mg
- 3/22/11 - .100mg
- 4/12/11 - .067mg
- 5/9/11 - .03mg
- 5/24/11 - 0mg
7 months off 33% healed
12 months off 52% healed
18 months off 70% healed, no longer suffering
Benzo withdrawal has been one of the best eras of my life[/url
Re: Marijuana & vicodin
« Reply #5 on: Today at 09:38:24 pm »

jessiccarabbit

The Hanz123-
My experience with these:
Vicodin ( have taken it for dental surgeries, which I have had 3 of in the wd process)… no issues if anything I felt better.
Alcohol- bad idea…temporary fix followed by 3 days of messed up misery.
Marijuana- Legal where I live but I just dont use it. No real reason why it’s just not for me I guess. All my friends have prescriptions and swear by it though.
So, I dont know. I guess all I can say is see how each affects you. EVeryone is different. I must say I wouldn’t mix all these and then add xanax. That is how people accidently OD….Jess

jessicca rabbit
2 mg of klonopin a day for 19 months.  On May 30th dropped abruptly to .25 mgs per day.  June 6th quit the.25, Personal decision.  K free since June 6th.  2-3 mgs of Xanax per day for 19 months dropped to 1.5 on May 30th.  June 6th-dropped to 1 mg of xanax.  Still on 1 mg of xanex broken into 4 pieces throughout the day.
6/21- cut down to .75 mgs of xanex. No more morning dose.
7/1-stabalizing on the .75 mgs of xanax for now.  8/1- Cut to .5 mgs of xanax.  No more night dose. 9/17- .375 mgs
9/24- updosed to .75mgs... personal reasons 10/1-.625 mgs, 10/8-.5 mgs, 12/7-Quit alcohol. Staying at .5 dose for now.

Re: Marijuana & vicodin
« Reply #6 on: Today at 09:44:35 pm »

sweet g

Having re-read your post, I just want to add on. The reason that you are experiencing some relief from alcohol is that it is similar to benzos. For the same reason, you might experience som relief, also, if you took more benzos, but obviously you are not only never going to get off if you keep doing that, you will have increased withdrawal symptoms.

Additionally, you should know that you cut your dose very dramatically by benzo standards. Many other meds you can just drop your dose by half and it’s fine, but that is a huge cut and it probably responsible for the serious symptoms you are reporting above.

What many people here do is called the Ashton Method, where they reduce their cuts by 10% every 10-14 days depending on their symptoms. Not everyone goes by that formula, but that does give you some idea of how dramatic your cut is, by comparison.

Also, depending on how much you drink and take pain pills, you may be experiencing some withdrawals from going on and off those, too.

I think that the best bet for you is to stop drinking and taking pain pills, and possibly to do so under a doctor’s guidance if you are doing these regularly. Once you are past that hurdle, I would start gently cutting the benzo dose.

I think that pot could go either way. My instinct is to tell you to drop it, too, but I have just known way too many people in my personal life who were able to use pot to safely help them to get off physically addictive drugs, so I am aware of it’s benefits. I think in the big picture, you’d be better off without it, but it also has the potential to be a tool in getting off far more dangerous things.

Best wishes.

- 3/30/2000, 1mg Clonazepam nightly for severe chronic insomnia
- 2008-2010, 1-2mg due to severely hyperactive thyroid, taking 1.5-2mg for a lot of it.
- Summer 2010, my thyroid is treated and I stabilize at 1mg. Suspect I no longer need the med.
- 8/6/10 - .75mg, goes relatively ok
- 9/3/10 - .5mg, have horrible life ruining withdrawal for 6 weeks, recover for more
- 11/19/10 - .375mg
- 12/25/10 - .25mg
- 1/14/11 - .167mg
- 2/4/11 - .125mg
- 3/22/11 - .100mg
- 4/12/11 - .067mg
- 5/9/11 - .03mg
- 5/24/11 - 0mg
7 months off 33% healed
12 months off 52% healed
18 months off 70% healed, no longer suffering
Benzo withdrawal has been one of the best eras of my life[/url
6 Comments
  1. leese permalink

    Dude drinking, taking vicodin, xanax, etc. is wishing for an overdose and death. Hope saying pot is addictive is fucking ridiculous. She’s full of shit. Did she just watch Reefer Madness? Hork. Maybe if she smoked a little cannabis and got laid she’d chill the fuk out and be tolerable.

  2. White Knight permalink

    Hi Leese

    Hanz is describing what could be drug induce schizophrenia. For some people, smoking weed increases the occurance of this form of mental illness. There is, strangely enough, a number of studies that show a tight correlation between smoking weed and significantly increased chances of developing mental illness, in particular, schizophrenia. Just ask this sites macot, Flick! LOL

  3. leese permalink

    WK, link me to the studies, please. Thanks! 🙂

  4. White Knight permalink

    If you google marijuana and schizophrenia or psychosis, you may find 622 studies published from 1962-1995. I used to have a few favorites, but I am no longer on top of the current information on the subject. Needless to say the evidence is overwhelming that smoking weed increases the chances one will develop serious mental illness.

    http://www.schres-journal.com/article/S0920-9964(11)00142-3/abstract

    This link will show a study with the typical general finding all the studies I have looked at have found: brain shrinkage and increased risk of schizophenia in heavy marijuana users.

Leave a comment